Peanut Butter and Jelly Smoothie

I would like to start my first post off by saying that I am a terrible vegetarian. This is not because I eat meat sometimes in convenience, because that would actually make me a carnivore. Instead, I am a bad vegetarian because, despite my best efforts to adapt, I really hate most vegetables. This makes it very hard to be a vegetarian and not eat pure crap that causes me to gain ten pounds (this may or may not have happened to me). But with some effort and time invested in cooking, I am finding the light. 

Anyway, my first visit to the doctor since I became a vegetarian made me realize that I should be finding other ways to get protein, something I knew but have not put so much effort into. Last night, I wanted a relatively healthy snack that would satisfy my munchies. And, behold, the peanut butter and jelly smoothie was born!
I mixed two scoops (one serving) of my protein powder (nutritional facts coming later on) with two cups of skim milk (but you can use water or any other beverage you see fit). Then I added two tablespoons of peanut butter (I really need protein), one tablespoon of grape jelly, and one tablespoon of chocolate syrup. I put all of this into a blender with ice and blended it until it was nice and creamy. The result was this:
20140408_231016
It tasted really good, almost like a milkshake. Next time, I would use more jelly or even swap out the jelly for the actual fruit (grapes or whatever you prefer). I even thought about adding graham crackers to represent the bread part of a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. I will probably try a million variations of this until I perfect it, but my first trial was surprisingly delicious and delivered the protein and calcium I am lacking in my diet. All in all, that makes me a very happy vegetarian.
Leave a Reply

